//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

Buika

First time I heard Buika….
I was in an inbetween place
Not Germany…not….quite,
Some other place
Frantically doing makeup backstage
For my turn was up next
Then her sweet voice
Beckoned me to her
Presence
So that I would see….
Be witness
To the marvel that we are
How we continue to pour
Godliness
Into our existence
Though none is apparent
How we turn icicles into bloom
A myriad of colours to liven vampirism

…and for a moment
I was alive
….yes

About Simphiwe Dana

Musician, Writer, Activist, Mom

Discussion

One thought on “Buika

  1. When I heard her for the first time…I realized how numb I’d been…how I’ve had to be in order to walk through this world as an African American woman…but her voice reminded me of my connection to Spirit…of my Life Purpose. Buika’s voice helped me take a deep breath…helped me cry…and feel again…

    Nailah Porter

    Posted by edenparkerdesigns | September 29, 2012, 09:04

Leave a Reply

Categories

Simphiwe Dana’s Archives

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

Music

My Community

Follow me on Twitter

