//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

The bass is king

The bass is king
Holding a delicate balance between melody and rhythm
That’s the beat!
The bass is the beat

Strings tugging at your heart’s wilderness
Bringing it home
Where you at?…, it asks
Feel….
In the middle of this here hurricane
Lies a beautyful black pearl
Just for you
In here is the thread that will swing you right
Papa Bass has everything
Tell me what you need
Comb through my threads and swing right, swing left
….Whatever you want
I will protect you within this beat
My blues will house you
You are safe with me

Ebb and flow
Don’t be afraid to release
Don’t be afraid to absorb
Don’t. Be. Afraid. Anymore

I have this truth tucked in my sleeve
The last card I will play before making my exit
This card stands for defeat for all
This card lays bare the nonsense that our ‘perceived’ importance is. More like impotence
This card is our salvation
For we must die so we can wake

This card stands for the many who squabble over nothing because we owe them
….Says Papa Bass to the orphans of the world
Who grow up fatherless
And must shape their fathers out of the mud

Yeah…
The bass is the only king that can possess me
Mould me into sadness or bliss
The only king that can make me beg
From the bowels of my understanding
For a moment
When I can perceive what connects everything
For I have no king….no father
The bass is my king

About Simphiwe Dana

Musician, Writer, Activist, Mom

Discussion

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Categories

Simphiwe Dana’s Archives

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

Music

My Community

Follow me on Twitter

