//
you're reading...
Uncategorized

I kissed the sun and got burnt mama

I kissed the sun and got burnt mama
When they tried to pull me down
I thought it was with jealousy in their hearts
Well it was
But their jealousy would have been my salvation
A salvation I would never stand for

The kiss was sweet mama
As I fell into ashes I saw the imprint of my lips on the sun
The sun had accepted my sacrifice
The sun mourned its loss
For the sun gets lonely
As all greats do

Yes I kissed the sun
I did it all right
I loved too much
I took in the whole world in my embrace
I should have hidden my wings
But my heart wouldn’t allow me

My name is Sankara, Lumumba, Biko, Madikizela….

When I fell to the ground they wouldn’t touch me
They laughed at my over ambitiousness
In their homes they howled at god
Looking at the pointlessness of their lives
I would have to bury myself
No phoenix will rise from these ashes

Should I be lucky enough
To again be born of human persuasion
I will look for my sun
For we have unfinished business him and I
Of gnashing teeth, distended bellies, And vultures waiting for babies to die
This time it’s going to be epic
This time the intensity of our passion will set the universe on fire
This time I refuse to die
For I must take a little of this fire to my people’s hearts

My people’s hearts hemmed in by a steely cloudiness that makes everyday seem like everyday else
A dullness that makes them indifferent to the storm brewing
Indifferent to our monuments to be swept away

I’m on my way

About Simphiwe Dana

Musician, Writer, Activist, Mom

Discussion

3 thoughts on “I kissed the sun and got burnt mama

  1. Uyinkwenkwezi*

    Posted by Mbongeni | October 30, 2012, 14:16
  2. I’m reminded of my dreams that seem to be impossible, the way things are it not promising, yet there is that inner knowing that I have what it takes to do the impossible. It may seem impossible sometimes but I believe in the impossible and first time for things. Let the impossible be wrought by you.

    Posted by Braveheart | December 22, 2012, 00:14
  3. I’m reminded of my dreams that seem to be impossible, the way things are it not promising, yet there is that inner knowing that I have what it takes to do the impossible. It may seem impossible sometimes but I believe in the impossible and first time for things. Let the impossible be first wrought by you.

    Posted by Braveheart | December 22, 2012, 00:15

Leave a Reply

Categories

Simphiwe Dana’s Archives

There was an error retrieving images from Instagram. An attempt will be remade in a few minutes.

Music

My Community

Follow me on Twitter

